Sometimes Noise Can Be A Distraction to Awareness   Leave a comment

I’ve found the Raccoon being a little ‘trickster’ at times when I’ve physically felt this animal’s presence around me.  It’s been a long time since we’ve seen any around our area back here in our woods, but I remember some years back during my bad years of drinking, I had come home from the bar.  All I wanted to do was get inside the house quietly without waking my parents, change into my pj’s, and crash in bed in silence.  I had purposely left the garage door open that night for me to roll the car in, and heard some chattering at me when I got out of the car. Sometimes noise can be a distraction to awareness…..and OH, I was aware of what I was up to finding and I surely didn’t like it at this moment of time!

In front of our doorway, my mom had kept a large tin garbage can full of bird seed for our Backyard Birds.  It had been tipped over, and peering carefully to see what the fuss of the Mother Coon was all about — I noticed her five babies had gotten into the seed!

OK, so the Coons were hungry, it had come across in my mind.  So why couldn’t they have just stayed outside the garage and ate the seed off the ground where my mom usually put it around the back Evergreen tree?  No, they had to cause a ruckous in the garage and being she was near her babies, I knew the female Coon could get very fierce and protective of her little ones if someone or something intruded on their space.

Being drunk and trying to get the family of Coons out of the garage was going to be a challenge.  I was reminded that I was exhausted and tired, as well as being out-of-sorts, may not react or move as fast as I usually could if I were sober, and didn’t want to do anything to encourage an attack on me.  

I got the Mother out first.  She didn’t like it, but she obediently left after about ten minutes, and was still hissing and making sounds outside in the front yard when I went to check on her to see how far away she’d gone.  And being babies and not have learned all the sounds of their mother yet, they playfully kept at the seed, eating what they could of it, and not leaving the garage.

I guess the noise had awakened my mom, she stuck her head out the door to see what was going on — and of course, being overprotective as she always been (even and especially in my adult years of life!), she got after me asking why I was in so late and giving me the lecture about coming home late and leaving the garage door open.  You don’t want to hear this when you’re drunk — let alone she was giving extra time in talking with me to the Mother Raccoon if she were to come back into the garage even madder!

We eventually worked together in getting the Raccoons out of the garage, closed the door, and went to bed. 

It was one of the lessons that I learned with this animal that they can be tricky at times, and don’t know what to expect from them in times when they need to feel defensive over their kin.  Just like my mom, the Mother Raccoon was overprotective of her babies; I was my mom’s only baby girl left. 

Like a Mother, they can show much love and affection towards others — but change and can be very protective if intruders may cause harm.  I learned from Raccoon Medicine that night, and from all the other animals on our land that have made their appearances unexpectedly in my life, we may want that peacefullness to ourselves — and not completely be ready to change our emotions at that time if we are distracted by something else.  Animals tend to appear in ‘showing’ us something along our Path whether we abide by them or not.  They always have some kind of Guidance for us, if we are aware and just go with the flow of their presence in our life in that moment we are connected with them.

BLESSings,
   )O( Indigenous Shamanic Winds

Posted November 20, 2012 by Shami in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The Nephilim Rising

Carpe Diem; Carpe Noctem; Carpe Omnia

The Reader of Singapore

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thoughts on the Edge by Shea Morgan at Spirit's Edge

Come to the Edge where Spirit dwells; follow the wandering Witch's, Shaman's & Mage's path of magickal musings

Three Sisters Medicine

~Integrative Energy Healing~

The Journeys of a Nomadic Pagan

A fine WordPress.com site

Down the Forest Path

A Journey Through Nature, its Magic and Mystery

Pursuit of Purpose

Life. My heart. All the bits in between.

Touch The Earth Blog

Spiritual Healing Tools from Mother Earth

Mallow and White Pine

plants, spirit, medicine, from the magical Gatineau Hills

The Sacred Creative | Katie Ryan

Creativity As Spirituality...

Summerland Agora

Craft Blog, Guide, and Communtiy

Writer Tara Ursulescu

Inspirational Life Writer with an Edge | Holistic Health, Spirituality

A Thousand Shades of Gray

Life is beautiful and brutal, tender and terrible -- keep your heart open.

The Silver Swan

Heart-centered readings, with Tarot and Medicine cards; spiritual support and guidance for the journey

Toliveinspired's Blog

Living Inspired, Creative and Empowered

The Witch of Forest Grove

Animism, Folk Magic, and Spirit Work in the Pacific Northwest

Heather Plett

helping you live & lead with courage, resilience & authenticity

